Road Within By: J.H

Here in kansas city it is hard to progress and simply, become richer. It is one of the worst cities for social mobility.

In my family, working hard is primary, literally. My dad is a construction worker and a landscape worker, my mom is always telling me how I need to be like him when I grow up. I feel like their generation was centered around money, working hard to make money. All for the money. I don’t feel that way. I feel that our generation is looking for meaning in what they do.

Like me I want to be a psychologist. I want to be that for what they do, they listen to people’s problems and help them, they guide them into a better path. They pick people up when they are down. Psychology happens to be an area that pays a good salary but if it didn’t i’d still be looking into it. You spend a lot of your lifetime at work. I wouldn’t want to be spending that time doing something I hate and making good money. As oppose to doing something I really like and still making good money.

Social mobility, in my opinion, has nothing to do with the american dream, because in the article “dream on” she came up from nothing and became rich and that was her American Dream. An american dream doesn’t necessarily have to be involved with money. It is involved with being happy with oneself.

One thought on “Road Within By: J.H

  1. You have really strong ideas here. Show-don’t-tell. I would take out the “I’s” and turn it more into a narrative including quotes from your mom and/or dad about their career beliefs compared to yours. Again, really good stuff here. This has potential to be great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

